Cheating in the name of breakfast food

I know, I know, I’m only one recipe into the book and I’m already cheating. But I’m not really cheating, I’m just skipping three (ish) recipes.

Let me explain: The next recipe in the Basics… etc chapter is for stock. Nigella says “you couldn’t make anything very useful from the amount of bones from one bird”.

I only have the bones from one bird (see last post). They’re sitting in my freezer, as Nigella advises to freeze your chicken bones until you have enough.

I have no idea how many frozen chicken carcasses I’ll need to make chicken stock.

I’ll gladly take suggestions…

Next up is lettuce and lovage soup, which aside from not sounding particularly appetising (hot lettuce?), requires the aforementioned stock that I’m unable to make due the frozen chicken bone deficit.

By the way, I also have no idea what lovage is.

Then it’s mayonnaise. I love mayonnaise, but I don’t like waste and I’m not sure what we will eat all the mayonnaise with. (I get the feeling it won’t last like the off the shelf stuff).

Nigella recommends eating mayo with cold, leftover chicken so to kill several birds with one stone (excuse the pun) the plan is to roast more chickens, eat the leftovers with mayonnaise (and probably chips), and when enough chicken carcasses are sitting in my freezer (who knows how many that is) I’ll make the stock, followed by hot lettuce soup.

For now, I’m moving on to hollandaise sauce. Which means, eggs benedict. Which means (thanks to my Ron Swanson-esque love of breakfast food) that I am very, very excited.

ron-swanson
(Image via BuzzFeed)

Sunday brunch, here we come (I honestly cannot wait…)

Leave a Reply

